Dog-Lovers! Look Up!

I’ll believe it when dogs fly.

Will two dogs do?

Today in 1951 Dezik and Tsygan became the first dogs to make a sub-orbital flight. You know, my pup is an old dog now but in her gleeful youth I witnessed her achieving sub-orbital heights several times. What’s so special about Dezik and Tsygan?

Head scratchers…

–          Today in 2010, the Stonehenge World Heritage Site announced the discovery of a possible new henge, the biggest discovery at a major monument in over 50 years. A thousand thoughts  spring to mind;

  • What? Were they using it for a picnic table?
  • I will be bold and guess that they found it in the last place they looked.
  • I think I used to drive a Henge.

–          Jimi Hendrix quit as the opening act of the Monkees’ tour today in 1967.

  • Jimi Hendrix? …and the Monkees??
  • The Monkees?…on tour??

Sing! “They say Ruby is like a dream.”

–          Today in 1844, silent film actress Ruby Lafayette was born in Augusta, Kentucky. Ms. Lafayette appeared in about 30 films including; THE PHANTOM HORSEMAN (1924), BEAUTY IN CHAINS (1918), POLLY OF THE STORM COUNTRY (1920), and THE YELLOW DOG (1918). I’ve not seen THE YELLOW DOG. Thus, I cannot testify as whether the dog flew or not.

Our quote of the day…

…comes from birthday boy and comedian Albert Brooks.

“When I die, if the word ‘thong’ appears in the first or second sentence of my obituary, I’ve screwed up.”

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Given today’s big news (dogs in the sky!) and the recent hot weather it makes sense to gulp a;

Flying Dog Ale

Chill.

Open.

Enjoy.

Let ‘er fly!

Cheers!

Roger

7/22/2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

