Comfort Your Dogs!

It’s Independence Day!

–          Concerts; damp, but check.

–          Parades; check.

–          Baseball; check.

–          Fireworks; later tonight.

–          Funnel cake; check.

–          A moment to ponder…check.

  • I hear people speak of being “proud” to be an American and I’m glad for them. But I think my feelings run closer to being grateful. After all, I did nothing to become an American. That was simply my great good luck and the work of my parents. I am profoundly grateful for that good luck and I hope I do something to earn it and I hope I do nothing to tarnish it. That is absolutely worth celebrating today or for the rest our days.

It’s also a big day for books!

–          Lewis Carroll’s ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND was published today in 1865. Go ahead and shout; “Off with their heads!”

–          The first edition of Walt Whitman’s book of poems, titled LEAVES OF GRASS, was published today in 1855. We’ll turn to Mr. Whitman for one of our quotes of the day; “Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes.”

And a big day for “My Old Kentucky Home”.

Stephen Foster was born today in 1826. “Weep no more…” Sound advice.

There are two more birthdays today.

–          HotMail was born today in 1996.

–          Playwright deluxe Neil Simon was born today in 1927. Mr. Simon gave us such plays as THE ODD COUPLE, BILOXI BLUES, THE GOODBYE GIRL, and (a personal favorite of mine) JAKE’S WOMEN. He also gave us our other quote of the day; “I love living. I have some problems with my life, but living is the best thing they’ve come up with so far.” Amen.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Looking at the weather report for today and the next few days, I suppose a cold DRY white wine would be in order.  But I have a fondness for the characters we meet traveling in Wonderland with Alice. We could whip up a;

Mad Hatter Cocktail

1 oz. Grays Peak Vodka

1 oz. Peach Schnapps

1 oz. Lemonade

1oz. Coca Cola

Shake and strain straight up into a shot glass.

Curiouser and curiouser!

Cheers,

Roger

7/4/2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

