OK, Old Guys! Time to Declare!

The “Archie” comic strip was broadcast on radio for the first time today in 1943. Remember Archie? Remember radio? It prompts me to put all my fellow geezers’ feet to the fire. It’s time to declare; Betty or Veronica? And while you’re at it don’t forget the age-old question; Ginger or Mary Ann?

We celebrate birthdays!

–          Actor Alida Valli was born today in 1921. Ms. Valli was generally billed by her last name only, but I don’t think it has the same cache as “Garbo”. Yes? No? Ms. Valli was quite moving and effective in Carol Reed’s mesmerizing film, “The Third Man”. Her long walk past Joseph Cotten in the film’s final shot is absolutely worth the price of admission. She also gives a happily mysterious performance in the Bertolucci film, “The Spider’s Stratagem”. I highly recommend both flicks.

–          I love spaghetti westerns and I’m hooked on Dirty Harry films. For those reasons alone today should be a national holiday in my occasionally humble opinion. These films and so many others simply would not be the same without the performances of Clint Eastwood – and I haven’t even mentioned “Play Misty for Me”! Mr. Eastwood was born today in 1930.

We celebrate weddings!

–          The oldest bride; Minnie Munro, 102, married Dudley Reid, 83, in Australia today in 1991.

We root for the Reds!

–          Today in 1994, the San Diego Padres scored 13 runs in the second inning against the Pittsburgh Pirates. Let’s hope our Reds do something similar to the Pirates tonight.

Get out!

–          Today in 1990, “Seinfeld” premiered on NBC. There’ll never be another Kramer. I hope all of you have a neighbor like Kramer sometime in your life and I hope I never do. I want to hear your stories about it, but I don’t want to live it.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Today in 1678, Lady Godiva began her famous ride through town sans clothing (that means without – sorry, old Groucho joke). I think that calls for a;

Lady Godiva Cocktail

1 tsp Sugar

2 dashes Triple Sec

Juice of ¼ Lemon

Juice of ½ Lime

Brandy

Ice

Shake all ingredients except brandy with ice.

Strain into a highball glass.

Fill with brandy.

Remember; “A man’s got to know his limitations.”

Cheers!

Roger

5/31/2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

