I Got Lunch…

And it sounds delicious.

–          Spam was introduced today in 1891 by Hormel. Guard your email accounts!

–          Today in 1866, Charles Elmer Hires invented root beer. Nothing goes better with spam.

–          As a delicious side dish for your spam and root beer, Spaghetti-O’s were first sold today in 1965.

It was all a dream…@#*&%$!

Bobby Ewing, played by actor Patrick Duffy returned from the dead on the TV show “Dallas” today in 1986. If the show had been written today, they would’ve simply brought him back as a zombie.

Today’s hot sports news

–          Today in 1914 the American Horseshoes Pitchers Association was organized in Kansas City.

–          In cricket, Bradman scored 278 Australia vs. MCC, 349 minutes, 35 fours 1 six. It sounds great and I think I’m happy for Bradman but what does it all mean?

–          The Cincinnati Reds played their first game today in 1869. They won 41-7. Obviously, Aroldis Chapman was not pitching that day.

Oscar took his first bow!

The first Academy Awards were handed out in Hollywood today in 1929. I was snubbed.

We have birthday winners!

–          While Pierce Brosnan is not my favorite James Bond, I like him in the role just fine. He is serious, suave, and sporadically cerebral in Bond films exploding in rampant technology that presumably came from somewhere and is heading to somewhere, though for the life of me I cannot fathom where or why.  Still, it’s “Bond, James Bond” and Mr. Brosnan plays him well. Mr. Brosnan was born today in 1953.

–          Betty Carter was born today in 1930. Ms. Carter’s vocal interpretations are invariably interesting and arresting. I especially like the duet work she did with Ray Charles. Sing! “Get over that hold out. Oh, but it’s cold outside.”

–          Debra Winger had me when she turned to John Travolta in the film “Urban Cowboy” and asked; “Are you a for real cowboy?”  She had me again in “Cannery Row” when she complained about herself; “I’ve got the manners of a duck!” I’m a fan. Ms. Winger was born today in 1955.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

I know I always cry at weddings, but this one?

Today in 1770, Marie Antoinette (age 14) married the future King Louis XVI of France (age 15). I understand they ate cake. Certainly they were much too young to have a;

Marie Antoinette Cocktail

1 oz. Raspberry Vodka

½ oz. Chambord

1 splash Champagne

1 splash Grand Marnier

1 ½ oz. Pineapple Juice

Raspberries for garnish

Pour all ingredients except champagne into a mixing glass filled with ice and stir.

Strain into a chilled martini glass and top with champagne.

Bonne chance!

Cheers!

Roger

5/16/2013.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

