January Grump? Oh Yes, He’s in the House!

Thirty-something degrees

Yuk!

Raise your hand if you are one of those “Oh, I love the four seasons!” zealots.

My hand is not raised.

I’m a three-season guy and not ashamed to admit it. I think bundling up to go outdoors should be strictly limited to throwing on a windbreaker. Drinking coffee should be an experience in dining, not an exercise in thermal adjustment. I remember seeing a sign on the front of a store in Key West on a rare 48-degree day that read; “Sorry, our shop is open but due to the frigid conditions our doors are closed today”. That’s a right and proper attitude in my book.

I love living in Kentucky, but I view winter as the rent I pay for doing so. Sigh…

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Noticing that today happens to be the birthday of the coach of one of my favorite football teams, the 1972 Miami Dolphins, I slipped into another bout of Florida dreaming. Coach Don Shula was born today in 1930.

There’s not much that I need that’s not in Kentucky, but I might trade a cloudy, thirty-degree day for some dolphins on the horizon.

Of course, thanks to that spectacular performance by the Louisville football team, we Kentuckians might not be terribly welcome these days in the Sunshine State.

Be that as it may, we’ll celebrate Mr. Shula’s birth with a;

Blue Dolphin Martini

3 oz. Opulent Vodka

½ oz. Blue Curacao

½ oz. Peach Schnapps

Fill a mixing glass with ice cubes.

Add all ingredients.

Stir and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Go watch reruns of Miami Vice or, if you’re truly desperate, Flipper.

Sing it! “Faster than lightning…”

Cheers!

Roger

1/4/13.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

