It Was Fun But…

…I need a time out!

I love the holiday season, especially in the Barns. Within a two-week period I get to see most of my customers in their very selves. Many of you have been visiting with me during Christmas for four decades (yeah, I know, another geezer moment). It continues to be a renewing time for me. It seems to get richer every year. Thank you for that.

That being said, I must confess that when New Year’s Day arrives, it’s good to stop and take a breath. It’s also good to watch a little football (or a lot), drink a little champagne (or a lot), and eat a little sauerkraut (or a…little) because Janie says we must, and start a little diet (or a whole lot) because the mirror is showing me a couple of guys who are sleeping with my wife – one must go! Is this what they mean when they say New Year’s is a time for reflection?

Then, of course, by about January 3rd, I’m ready for the next holiday. When’s the Super Bowl? When’s Arbor Day? Isn’t it Independence Day somewhere?

Liquor Barn is in two new places since last New Year’s.

We just experienced our first New Year’s Eve in Bowling Green and at our new Express store in Lexington. By all accounts, those communities fully comprehend what it means to celebrate. It’s good to party with those folks.

I love what I do. How could I not? I get to work in the Liquor Barn every day! After 40+ years, it never gets old.

My New Year’s wish for all of you is that you get to spend as much time in your “happy place” as I do.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

I predict we’ll hear “The Star-Spangled Banner” a few times on this big football day. It so happens that flag-sewing wonder Betsy Ross was born today in 1752. Let’s celebrate Ms. Ross’ birth with a;

Betsy Ross Cocktail

1 oz. Brandy

1 oz. Port

½ oz. Triple Sec

1 dash Angostura Bitters

Start by filling a mixing glass with ice.

Add ingredients.

Stir and strain into a chilled cocktail glass and serve.

Happy New Year! …what’s next?

Cheers!

Roger

1/1/13.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

