The Great Experiment Ends Today!

Prohibition ended in the United States today in 1933. I’ll be celebrating that. I know you’re stunned.

Oh…there’s one more little event to celebrate.

Today in 1492, Christopher Columbus became the first European to set foot on the island of Hispaniola (now Haiti and the Dominican Republic).

And there are birthdays of interest;

–          Film directors Fritz Lang (1890) and Otto Preminger (1906) were both born today.

–          Writers James Lee Burke (1936) and Joan Didion (1934) share this birthday. I’ll be wearing my “Robicheaux’s Bait and Boat Dock” hat today. I really do have one! I just finished Mr. Burke’s latest novel; CREOLE BELLE, last weekend. It was crackerjack! I’m a big fan.

–          Walt Disney was born today in 1901, as was Little Richard in 1932. What collaboration that would have been! I’m imagining Little Richard shoutin’ out on “It’s a Small World After All”. It may be a sleepless night.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

I gotta go back to the headline for this one!

Prohibition Cocktail

2 oz. Royal James Gin

2 oz. Lillet Blanc

½ tsp Apricot Brandy

1 tsp Orange Juice

Shake and strain into a cocktail glass.

Sing forever! “It’s a small, small, good golly Miss Molly world!”

Cheers!

Roger

12/5/12.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

