Of All the Gin Joints…

Breaking news!

I love movies.

I know you’re stunned by that revelation.

If I’m forced to choose one film to take to a desert island and live with forever, my choice would be Casablanca, starring Humphrey Bogart (“We’ll always have Paris”), Ingrid Bergman (“Play it, Sam”), Claude Rains (“I’m shocked to find that gambling is going on here!”), Dooley Wilson (“You must remember this…”), S. Z. Sakall (“Hm, you will get along beautiful in America. Mm-hmmm.”), Peter Lorre (“What right do I have to think, huh?”), Conrad Veidt (“My impression was that he’s just another blundering American”), Mischa Auer (“Yvonne! I love you, but he pays me”), Sydney Greenstreet (“If I may make one suggestion, though I don’t why as it cannot profit me in the least”), etc.

Thus, you can imagine how happy I am to note that today was the day in 1942 that Casablanca had its world premiere at the Hollywood Theater in New York. For me and this flick it truly was “the beginning of a beautiful friendship.”

Of course that has to be our Drink 4cast 4 2day.

Casablanca Cocktail

2 oz. Ron Diaz Light Rum

½ oz. Ron Diaz Coconut Rum

4 oz. Pineapple Juice

1 oz. Coconut Cream

½ oz. Grenadine Syrup

Blend briefly with a glassful of crushed ice in a collins glass. Add grenadine. Garnish with a slice of pineapple and serve unstirred.

Put it on Captain Renaud’s tab and he’ll tear it up as usual.

Another movie premiere today!

Today in 1952, the first modern 3-D movie, Bwana Devil premiered in Hollywood. I’ve seen it. It should have been “No-D”!

There are other things to celebrate today.

–          Today in 1922, Howard Carter and Lord Carnarvon became the first people to enter the tomb of Pharoah Tutankhamun in over 3,000 years. They discovered that Ol’ Tut was a terrible hoarder.

–          The National Hockey League was formed today in 1917. The original teams were; the Montreal Canadiens, the Montreal Wanderers, the Ottawa Senators, the Quebec Bulldogs, and the Toronto Arenas. I’ve found no mention of a team in Louisville. I believe it was several years later that ice was introduced to Kentucky.

And yes, we have birthdays of interest.

–          Singers Robert Goulet (1933) and Tina Turner (1939) were both born today. I’ve searched everywhere for their duet album (remember those?), but have failed to turn one up.

–          Today is the birthday of playwright Eugene Ionesco in (1909) and actor Cyril Cusack in 1910.

–          The founder of McDonald’s, Maurice McDonald was born today in 1902. Hold those fries.

–          Gentleman-outlaw Bat Masterson (1853), Charlie Brown’s best friend Charles M. Schulz (1922), and baseball pitcher Lefty Gomez (1908) share this birthday.

“Here’s lookin’ at you, kid.”

Cheers!

Roger

11/26/12.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

