I’m Thinkin’ About Clint Eastwood

I can’t help it.

There are a number of things worth celebrating today.

–          We have birthdays for our Kentucky-born “Achy-Breaky” guy-Billy Ray Cyrus (1961), Gort’s best friend-actor Michael Rennie (1909), Pogo’s creator-Walt Kelly (1913), the musical interpreter of “the best of all possible worlds”-Leonard Bernstein (1918), and the best James Bond period-Sean Connery (1930).

–          Today in 1962, Little Eva’s “The Locomotion” hit number one on the charts and today in 1975, Bruce Springsteen released his “Born to Run” lp.

–          And our friends at Hallmark tell us that today is National Banana Split Day – nuthin’ shabby about that.

But I just saw a trailer for the new Clint Eastwood film.

Whoa! What a career!

Of his 67 titles listed at IMDB, perhaps the only one that would make many “Best” lists would be his completely fine “Unforgiven”, but how many of his films would make your “Oh golly I LOVED that film!” list?

I’m old enough to have first admired his swagger in the television cowboy show “Rawhide”. Of course I immediately wanted to grow up to be Rowdy Yates, not realizing that being a scout for a wagon train heading to California was probably not going to be an expanding employment opportunity.

His “man with no name” films (“A Fistful of Dollars”, “For a Few Dollars More” & “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly”) were breathtaking. No, I didn’t want to grow up to be his character, but I wanted to be able to be him if I needed to be.

The same could be said for his performances as Dirty Harry. “Dirty Harry”, “Magnum Force”, “The Enforcer”, “Sudden Impact”, and “The Dead Pool” will stop me every time I’m channel-surfing.

And then there’s “Play Misty for Me”. It’s one of the scariest films I’ve ever seen and I cannot look away if it pops up on the screen.

I’m a fan.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

There’s only one way to go here…and all because of a movie trailer.

Magnum 357 Cocktail

1 oz. Ron Diaz 151 Rum

1 oz. Denaka Vodka

2 oz. Amaretto

2 ½ oz. 7-Up

Pour the rum into a highball glass filled with ice cubes.

Add the vodka and amaretto.

Fill with 7-Up and serve.

Go on…make my day…

Cheers!

Roger.

8/25/2012.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “I’m Thinkin’ About Clint Eastwood”

  1. Neil - BG Ice Bowling Green, KY Says:

    Roger, Love your blog! – Neil

  2. liquorbarn Says:

    Thank you, sir!

Leave a Reply

