“There’s No Such Thing as Girls Like That!”

So songwriter Christine Kane tells us.

If you are not familiar with Ms. Kane’s songs, I urge you to become so. Visit her website (christinekane.com) or check out her performances on Youtube. She will certainly have you laughing and thinking real hard.

Today’s blog title is the title of one of her songs. It’s a cautionary note to guys about iconic female figures such as the girl on the tire flaps of big trucks and, of course, the Barbie Doll.

Today in 1959, the Barbie Doll made its debut at the American International Toy Fair in New York City.

What are the odds?

–          Today is the birthday of free jazz innovator Ornette Coleman. My wife looks at me funny when I play Mr. Coleman’s music at the house, but my kitten chills out to it.

–          Actor Ornella Muti was born today in 1955. Ms. Muti’s stunning performance as Princess Aura in the film “Flash Gordon” might lead us to believe Christine Kane could be mistaken. I know a couple of usually smart fellows who would think so. They lapse immediately into “dumbitude” at the mention of her name.

Not me! (He smugly says).

It takes Juliette Binoche to strike me stupid. Ms. Binoche’s performances in the films “Blue”, “Chocolat” and “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” are completely appealing. Ms. Binoche was born today in 1964.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

File this under “I always cry at weddings”.

Napoleon and Josephine were wed today in 1796. I would have attended but somehow my invitation seemed to be lost in the mail. Did they have mail then? I’ll toast’em anyway with a;

Champagne Napoleon

½ Mandarin Napoleon Liqueur

1 splash Orange Juice

Champagne

Build in a champagne flute.

Garnish with an orange slice.

Sing! “Dream, and the way will be clear…leap, and the net will appear…right out of nowhere!”

Cheers!

Roger

3/9/12.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

