Don’t Aim Your Nose at Me!

Not if you’re gonna tell a lie!

Walt Disney’s second full-length animated film; “Pinocchio” premiered today in 1940. No, I was not there. I do, however, remember seeing the film as a child and having a reaction reminiscent of Ralphie’s mom in “A Christmas Story”. If your nose truly grew longer when you lied and you weren’t careful you could put someone’s eye out with it!  I also remember checking the mirror regularly for irregular nose growth for months after seeing the film. Impressionable? I should say so.

If you’d care to while away the day…

…we could play Monopoly. The board game was invented today in 1935. Be warned! I have a special “hurricane rule” should you obtain too many hotels. Competitive? I should say so!!

Two British character actors that could pretty much always make me smile were born today.

–          Pete Postlethwaite (1946) broke my heart in the perfectly delightful film “Brassed Off”. Every film I watched him in was made better by his performance.

–          I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy watching the fairly dreadful “Carry On” comedies. One reason why is Hattie Jacques (1922). Ms. Jacques imperiously graced several of these epics.

Lest we forget;

It’s Independence Day in Grenada.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

We’ll go back to Pinocchio for our daily libation inspiration.

Pinocchio’s cat (who was cuter than a bug’s ear) was named Figaro. That’s good enough for me!

Figaro Cocktail

1 oz. Crème de Cacao

1 oz. Crème de Menthe

1 oz. Triple Sec

Mix together over ice.

Get out of jail free!

Cheers!

Roger

2/7/12.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

