Two Captains & a King!

Captain #1

Today in 2009 Captain Chelsey Sullenberger guided a jetliner disabled by a bird strike just after takeoff from LaGuardia Airport to a safe landing in the Hudson River. All 155 people survived. I recall how stunned I was watching the video of this event.

Captain Sullenberger is a champion of competence, coolness under ultimate pressure, and execution when it counts the most. 155 people survive because one immensely skilled individual demonstrated those skills to perfection at the perfect time. This is a hero. When I grow up I want to be Captain Sullenberger.

Captain #2

Captain Beefheart was born today in 1941. He was innovative and impossible to classify but I am always intrigued and entertained listening to his work.

The King?

That would be Reverend Martin Luther King Jr.

Rev. King was born today in 1929. I find I admire most the people who leave my community, my country, and myself better than it was before they came along. In my lifetime, I think I admire Rev. King the most…period.

A religion was also born today (at least in Kentucky).

Dr. James Naismith published the rules of basketball today in 1892. The Universities of Kentucky and Louisville had identical won/lost records that year. They both were 0-0. I wonder when was the last year those schools both played .500 basketball?

Oh, by the way…

It’s Tree Planting Day in Egypt…it really is.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

We’ll go with our two captains for our daily imbibing.

Captain’s Cocktail

1 oz. Ron Diaz White Rum

½ oz. Ron Diaz Spiced Rum

1 oz. Lime Juice

½ tsp Caster Sugar

½ oz. Port

Shake rums, juice and sugar together in a shaker.

Strain into a champagne saucer filled with crushed ice.

Sprinkle the port over one half the surface.

Drink from the port side.

Look for a safe place to land.

Cheers!

Roger

1/15/12.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

