Dolphin Dreaming at 16 Degrees

Sixteen degrees…there’s no way that’s good.

Raise your hand if you are or know someone who is an “Oh, I love the four seasons!” zealot.

My hand is not raised.

I’m a three-season guy and not ashamed to admit it. I think bundling up to go outdoors should be strictly limited to throwing on a windbreaker. Drinking coffee should be an experience in dining, not an exercise in thermal adjustment. I remember seeing a sign on the front of a store in Key West on a rare 48-degree day that read; “Sorry, our shop is open but due to the frigid conditions our doors are closed today”. That’s a right and proper attitude in my book.

I love living in Kentucky, but I view winter as the rent I pay for doing so. Sigh…

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Noticing that today happens to be the birthday of the coach of one of my favorite football teams, the 1972 Miami Dolphins, I slipped into a bout of Miami dreaming. Coach Don Shula was born today in 1930.

There’s not much that I need that’s not in Kentucky, but dolphins on a sixteen-degree day…

We’ll celebrate Mr. Shula’s birth with a;

Blue Dolphin Martini

3 oz. Opulent Vodka

½ oz. Blue Curacao

½ oz. Peach Schnapps

Fill a mixing glass with ice cubes.

Add all ingredients.

Stir and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Go watch reruns of “Miami Vice” or, if you’re truly desperate, “Flipper”.

Sing it! “Faster than lightning…”

Cheers!

Roger

1/4/12.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

