“I’m Goin’ Down to Yasgur’s Farm”

“Gonna join in a rock and roll band.

Gonna camp out on the land and get my soul free.”

I’ve been told this blog has acquired a geezer/hippie-ish-ness since I’ve been writing it. Nu? What would you expect? I cannot deny my citizenship in “Woodstock Nation” even if I wanted to. I am “caught in the Devil’s bargain” of my physical age. I could resist it or relish it…guess which one I choose.

So…I hereby declare today to be “Woodstock Day!”

Today in 1919, Max Yasgur was born. It was Mr. Yasgur’s farm near Woodstock, New York that was used as the venue for the Woodstock Festival. No, I was not there…sigh.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

We’ll celebrate Mr. Yasgur’s day of birth by having a;

Woodstock Cocktail

1 ½ oz. Royal James Gin

1 oz. Lemon Juice

1 tsp Maple Syrup

1 dash Angostura Bitters

Combine ingredients in a shaker.

Shake and strain into a chilled martini glass.

Far out!

There are a couple of other things to celebrate today.

–          Today’s the day we all learned to say “Fiddle-dee-dee…I’ll think about that tomorrow.” The film “Gone with the Wind” premiered at Loew’s Grand Theatre in Atlanta today in 1939.

–          Today in 2001, after eleven years and $27,000,000 spent to fortify it, the Leaning Tower of Pisa reopened to the public. It still leans. What kind of work is that!

–          Speaking of towers, Gustave Eiffel was born today in 1832. His tower does not lean! They shoulda hired him in Pisa!

–          Jazz bandleader Stan Kenton was born today. He wasn’t at Woodstock either.

(sing it!) “Maybe it’s the time of year, or maybe it’s the time of man…”

Cheers!

Roger

12/15/11.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to ““I’m Goin’ Down to Yasgur’s Farm””

  1. Peter Says:

    Thanks! Now I’ll have CSNY’s Woodstock humming in my head all day…instead of Christmas muzak! Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

