My Kingdom for a Chevy to the Levee!

Wow! Was that a great day of football in Kentucky or what?

We’d best look elsewhere for our celebrations today.

Richard III was born today in 1452. I suppose it’s an odd thing to celebrate such a villain but his speeches in Shakespeare’s tragedy are so very fine I just couldn’t help myself. “Now is the winter of our discontent made glorious summer by this son of York.” I’m hooked every time.

Today is also the birthday of critic/actor Rex Reed in 1938. Will we ever forget (or forgive) his cerebral performance in the film “Myra Breckenridge”? I bet he would be great as Richard III though…well…maybe not so much.

It’s a great day for comedians. Bud Abbott (1895) and Groucho Marx (1890) were both born today. From “Duck Soup”; the long-suffering Margaret Dumont (whose birthday is coming up soon) asks; “What are you doing, Otis?” Groucho replies; “I’m fighting for your honor which is more than you ever did!” Sweet guy.

Don McLean was born today in 1945. Mr. McLean’s “American Pie” was the longest song I ever heard on the radio at the time (of course Arlo Guthrie’s “Alice’s Restaurant” and the immortal “Inna-Gadda-Da-Vida” – I just know I spelled that correctly – by the Iron Butterfly came later). “And good ol’ boys were drinkin’ whiskey and rye…” You know, I think I still know all the deathless lyrics to “Inna-Gadda”! I’ll spare you.

It’s Independence Day again…this time in Guinea.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Today in 1950, “Peanuts” by Charles M. Schulz was first published. That’s worth a toast with a

Charlie Brown Cocktail

1 oz. Cognac

1 oz. Crème de Cacao Dark

1 oz. Drambuie

Fill a mixing glass with ice cubes.

Add all ingredients.

Stir and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

Good grief!

Cheers!

Roger,

10/2/11.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

