It’s Geezer Day!

Watch me do a little dance (or at least totter) and sing out  (or croak) with pride (or mild amusement). I’ll kick up my heels (vertical leap = 2.5 inches)! It’s Geezer Day and I didn’t make that up (or if I did, I forgot). Let’s celebrate (or at least smile real big)!

I guess I should start by calling it by its official name; International Day of Older Persons.

Those who know me understand that I embrace my geezerdom with gusto. It’s good now to know things that I didn’t know when I was younger, especially to have a full understanding how little I know now. I sure didn’t know THAT in my youth, but, of course, I knew everything else! (I defy anyone to diagram that last sentence.) When I was a young person, I was a sponge, soaking up everything I could see or hear or taste or feel or smell. Well…I still am. My senses may not process the information as quickly as they formerly did, but when the information is received, it has an amazing wealth of context waiting for it. It may not be a new sensation to me, but it’s a sensation that means something because of the sensations that came before. Bob Dylan said it quite nicely; “I was so much older then – I’m younger than that now.” Happy Geezer Day to me and all my “Older Persons” friends.

There’s much else to celebrate today.

It’s a big day for transportation.

–         Ford put the Model T car on the market at price of $825 today in 1908. I’ll take a black one please.

–         Today in 1940, the Pennsylvania Turnpike opened to traffic for the first time.

–         And before we had cars…Today in 1811, the first steamboat to travel the Mississippi River arrived in New Orleans. I was there waving.

And sports;

–         “The Thrilla in Manila”: heavyweight championship fight between Muhammad Ali and Joe Frazier took place today in 1975. “Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee!”

–         On this day in 1903, the Boston Americans played the Pittsburgh Pirates in the first game of the modern World Series.

And some other odds and ends;

–         Today in 1880, John Philip Sousa became the leader of the United States Marine Band. Stars and Stripes Forever!

–         Austria issued the world’s first postcards today in 1869.

–         You could use those postcards on this day in 1971 when Walt Disney World opened.

And you’ll need all your firecrackers since it’s Independence Day in Cyprus, Nigeria, Palau and Tuvalu. Raise your hands if you’ve been to Tuvalu…or send a postcard.

Birthdays? Yes, we have birthdays.

–         What a show we could put on today. Actors Laurence Harvey (1928), James Whitmore (1921), Richard Harris (1930), Walter Matthau (1920) and Julie Andrews (1935) were all born today.

–         Clyde Barrow’s main squeeze, Bonnie Parker was born today in 1910.

–         Concert pianist Vladimir Horowitz (1903) shares this birthday as well.

Drink 4cast 4 2day

Only one way to go here;

Bacardi Geezer Cocktail

1 oz. Peach Schnapps

1 bottle Bacardi Breezer Lime

1oz. Cointreau Orange Liqueur

1 oz. Royal James Gin

1 oz. Grays Peak Vodka

Stir ingredients together in a pint glass and serve.

Hip! Hip! Hoor…oops, hip’s out!

Cheers,

Roger

10/1/11.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

